Off Centre

By RachelCarter

Wet and grey but not wet and grey

We went through Braunton Marshes on our way to walk at Crow point. It's been a good year for swans so far on Braunton Marshes. There are 2 pairs (that we know of) who have 12 signets between them, and they're all pretty much as big as their parents now.

One family are particularly confident and tame, and came right up to me - peep-peeping to each other, and completely unphased by my camera. I, on the other hand, am a bit wary of wild swans and was quite nervous in case they suddenly decided I was a threat.

We had a quick trot round Crow Point - quicker than anticipated because Joel texted to say his induction day at the college had ended earlier than expected and he wanted a lift home. So the day morphed into a trip into town and we got Tess's school shoes and picked up my mended MacBook (Whoop and yay! Welcome back, MacBook!). Buying Tess school shoes is usually a pain in the arse. She doesn't like most shoes, and has flat, skinny feet, but they had a pair of shoes she wanted today and we were done in a matter of minutes.

When we got home I did some gardening and gave the sycamore tree a much-needed haircut. It was a stupid day to prune a tree because it was really windy and I ended up with branches on my head and leaves and caterpillars in my bra - I also nearly fell off my ladder a few times, but when I'm going to do something, I'm going to do it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.