Scribbler

By scribbler

Hand

Wooden sculptures by Rick Bartow at Froelick Gallery.
Thoughtful Thursday.


I love this artist's work because his images have spiritual power.
These pieces were on a high shelf, as much stored as displayed.
Is there significance in their juxtaposition?
I can't discern their message. I just like looking at them.
Especially the hand.

Hands are tricky things to capture in art, whether in a drawing or a sculpture. They are highly expressive and highly nuanced. They are silent, yet they speak.
We clap, slap, snap our fingers, drum, rub. We gesture. We sign.
I have admired groups of people signing on a crowded, noisy bus. They could not converse and be heard in that environment, yet they easily speak with their hands.

I sense a communication in this image, but I don't know what it is. Do you?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.