Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

The Bird That Never Flew?

Had to go into Glasgow on Thursday, and so decided that I would visit another of the Generation Art exhibitions in the city. I had been to a few previously and there was one at the People's Palace that I was keen to visit.

It was called 'Ventriloquist Dummies Double Self-Portrait' and consisted of two ventriloquist's dummies perched on chairs in an otherwise darkened room. Across from them was a TV set and headphones on which one could hear them 'speak'. Their conversations, however, were quite dark and sinister and engendered (as the artists' intended) a sense of unease and discomfort in the viewer / listener. I decided not to use my photos of the dummies as my blip for the day!

Instead, I've gone for this other sculpture, which is one of those in the Winter Gardens of the People's Palace (an excellent place for a cup of coffee, by the way!) It represents part of the Glasgow Coat of Arms - a bird, tree, bell, fish and ring - which form part of the legend of St Mungo and the city's founding.

In turn, Protestant Glaswegians composed a little ditty rubbishing the saint's story: There's the bird that never flew, the tree that never grew, the bell that never rang, and the fish that never swam.

Look to the right of the bird in my photo and you might just catch the sculpture of the fish with a ring in its mouth.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.