Dutch Skies

By RonBuist

Kloosterkerk in Ten Boer

The area around the city of Groningen was very wet and often flooded before the dikes were built. In that time, people built their farms and churches on man-made hills called mounds. The village Ten Boer, where I live, is no exception to this. The village started out as a Benedict monestary in the 13th Century. Of the monastery nothing remained, but the monastery church (in Dutch: Kloosterkerk) still stands proudly on top of the mound.

Inspired by Lesleys church blip, I decided it was time for me to blip our Romano-Gothic monestary church. That was not my original plan for today: I was supposed to be at work. Snowfall during last night took care of a slight change of plans as traffic on both routes to my office had come to a complete halt for hours. I can work from home but I decided to take the day off instead.

Nienke and I went out in what felt like a blizzard to take some shots of the church. My hands were freezing and suddenly the buttons on my camera appeared extremely small and hard to operate. Ah, the things we do for our daily blip...

I was in serious doubt today about what picture to use for blipfoto. When I told Nienke the picture would be for a blip, she immediately remembered Blip Together and stretched out her hands while standing against the church wall in a perfect blip together pose. Well done Nienke!

After I put up this blip it will be rush hour to get the girls in bed. When I'm back I will probably do some commenting on all your wonderful pictures. Enjoy your evening!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.