University House, Reflected on the Duck Pond

It was a splendidly cool and gorgeous morning. I took the bus to work for a change, and that put me on campus just as the light came. And so I got to enjoy two of my favorite things together: the arrival of the light, and one of the most beautiful college campuses in the country.

The bus that I catch a few minutes from our drive way drops me off on campus just above the Libraries. Whenever my schedule permits, I seize the opportunity to enjoy a quick stroll around campus before catching the next bus that takes me out to the building where I work, off campus. The little loop that I walk takes me past the Library, along or through West Halls, down to the duck pond, past Old Main, and back up the mall to the Library again.

It was the final Friday morning in August, a morning that seemed more like early autumn than late summer. I felt a spring in my step. While some people get very sad about summer ending (and I admit I do get some of that feeling too), the arrival of autumn fills me with renewed energy and joy. It's no longer too hot out for hiking. The leaves start to turn. I want to go everywhere, see everything, before winter comes.

On this morning, the sky was clear and blue, and the duck pond's water provided an amazingly clear, reflective surface. The gazebo shone white in the morning sun. A lone turtle raised its head above the water. A dozen mallards hung out at the edge of the pond. The University House - former home of Penn State's presidents, now part of the alumni center complex - reflected splendidly on the waters.

On the bridge below the duck pond (see left edge of photo), a professor was attempting to hold class. I know for a fact, though, that some of the students were having difficulty paying attention. It was too beautiful here; there was too much to see, so much in this world that was much more interesting than anything he might be saying.

Ah, I remember those days. School days. The start of fall semester. Happy reunions with old friends after a long summer apart. A time of new notebooks and pencils and school supplies; a time of hope and promise. I took a bunch of pictures of the reflections on the water; of the mallards, the turtle, the gazebo. I smiled to myself, and left.

This song to celebrate the final day of the first week of fall semester is the Runaways (yes, that's Joan Jett, and Lita Ford too), with School Days.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.