TynvdBrandhof

By TynvdB

On a Grey Saturday Afternoon

Without a Glimpse of Sunshine this Saturday at the Forest Hillside came to an end. The day filled with chores and other preparations for the return in September. It feels good to know that we can put an old vinyl record on the turntable just to enjoy the music without a rough scatching-cracking deformation from the boxes. You will agree that there are more elementary parts of comfort in a house than the orderly functioning of the household hardware alone. Willemien had complained that it was no longer possible to play music. Something “rotten” in the system, perhaps. But in order to fix and repair you need time, patience, spare parts and some finger feeling.

I remember having fixed the audio around New Year 2013. In between at least I had taken no time to listen to any of our favorite records. So I started with the vacuum cleaner and free the Technics and its surroundings from years of Dust. “Emptiness”, it went through my mind. “Vacman exercises in getting the small everyday hangups in a flow”. And everything went well until the Ladies chased the Vacman out of his repair-seat, where he was tinkering the portable CD-player into functioning: “WE are going to see a movie here, So off you go!”

I can not have anything to complain here. Because there are more fundamental matters at stake. And that is my own question, how am I going to find back my way to play harmonica again. What I am doing in the field of creativity you see the most of it. Photography and writing. Still there is the sketching and painting part, for which I should take more time. But, more importantly, since long I know that I am neglecting that central rhythmical and deeper musical driving part. Perhaps all this removal-disorder which is going on for months now could offer an unexpected opportunity to shift into making bits of daily music, just for fun, pleasure or whatever. To play some slow grey Saturday afternoon tune. Standing on the veranda, looking over that Harbourtown sunken away in the streaming of time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.