Holiday Memories

It now seems ages since we went to Sweden and Finland at the end of July. but every time I look at this candle and its mate I remember a particularly warm and lovely day in Mariehamn on the Åland Islands when we went to the Maritime Museum. For such little islands they had a tremendous impact on the transport of grain around the world and the museum was fascinating.

The Åland Islands or Åland is an autonomous, demilitarised, monolingually Swedish-speaking region of Finland that consists of an archipelago lying at the entrance to the Gulf of Bothnia in the Baltic Sea." (Wiki)

I love the shape and patterns on this candle and as the summer holidays come to an end I thought it was time for a bit of reminiscing. I also think it fits nicely into the shape and shadow category of the August Challenge.

Don't know if it will ever get lit! I've got quite a few candles I can never imagine actually using!

A greater light?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.