Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Close to Home

The past four days at work have been more draining than I had realised. I slept for 10 hours last night and didn't venture very far from home all day today. It was a much needed opportunity to get some rest and top up the energy levels.

From the hill I live on you can see right over the town, nestling in the valley, to the trees and fields on top of the ridge at the other side. I've never explored any of the walks over there, so this afternoon I had a little nose around for a while. I was rewarded with a delightful ramble along the edge of some fields which until recently had wheat growing in them. All just stubble now, with crows and pigeons foraging on them. Many more stretched far into the distance across the rolling Buckinghamshire countryside. A joyful encounter with an exuberant little dog made me laugh, and also made me wish I had one too.

And all only a mile or so from home. How could I have lived here 18 years and not been there until now?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.