Louise - Changing Natures

By louisemac

Nature Unleashed

I saw this on my way to an event tonight about a WWF Scotland project I've been involved in. I was late, attempting to run in heels and trying to think of too many things at once, hence it's a bit blurry and grainy.

The project, called "Natural Change" has been about exploring whether reconnecting ourselves with nature can nurture a deeper connection with values and sustainability. It was a great event, covering academic theory about values identity, methodology and moving and powerful testimony from a participant, Emma.

When I uploaded this tonight, I realised there was a link to this particular blip - because we talked a lot about the main "frame" of our relationship with nature is dominated by...well, domination. It's about conquering, overcoming, enduring, surviving, against the odds. Rather than accepting our "ecological selves" and being PART of it, recognising our interconnectedness, seeing it as something which is nurturing, healing, and can build resilience and hope etc. And here I have an artistic abstract in an art gallery window of a big cat behind bars....nature, caged.

Check out the website and blogs here if you'd like to know more.

Oh, and it's where my love of photography was sparked..so if nothing else, that's gotta be a good thing, right?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.