Claire and Julia

Catching two teenagers together for a photo is not easy. Claire had swim practice from 8 to 10. while Amy and I went on a nice hike in Fryman Canyon (We didn't see any celebrities, but we did see George Cloony's house). Matt and Amy, OilMan and I went out to lunch, but the girls didn't want to come. When we got home, Julia was nowhere to be seen and Claire fell asleep on the dog bed, woke up, said, "did I really fall asleep on the dog bed? OMG! I'm going to go and sleep on my bed!", and promptly disappeared.

A large chunk of pork has been cooking slowly on the barbecue all day. Matt, OilMan and I wound up in what Amy refers to as the "white trash" courtyard between the back door and the open garage door (which reveals reject furniture, cleaning products, a wine fridge and several bicycles) sitting on reject chairs from the garage, staring into the fire. The girls wandered out and sat on the back steps, and I caught them in a light moment with their dad.

I love girls this age. They are such a refreshing combination of worldly, childlike, pleasant, funny, and, I think my grandmother status allows me to say, gorgeous. Especially my granddaughters.

Postscript: OilMan carved the most succulent slices of pork, and went take the trash out. Matt went to the store for barbecue sauce and I went outside to set the table. While we we were thus occupied, Bodhi, the large golden retriever pushed off all the succulent slices of slow roasted pork..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.