SeaGypsy49

By SeaGypsy49

Kondalilla Falls.

My daughter took me with her today when she went with a group of photo enthusiasts for a walk down to the bottom of the Kondalilla Falls, up behind the little township of Mapleton, not far from Nambour.
The falls are formed when the Skene Creek drops 90m into the rain forest. Kondalilla is an Aboriginal word meaning 'rushing water', which would be very apt during the wet season, but not so much today.
It is a 4.7km walk, but we did a bit extra by going to the small falls, then back up to the track that goes down on the right hand side of the falls. (See blip for 27th June, when we only went as far as the small falls.)
Luckily, the sun went behind the clouds just as we came out from the trees on our way up, and this cooled the temperature down quite a bit. I used my usual method of keeping myself cool, by taking a small silk scarf which I had soaked in water before leaving home (Had it in a zip-lock bag), so when I start heating up, I wrap it around my neck and tuck it down the front of my shirt. Then I tip water into my hat, and let it soak in, before putting it on!! Works well, and saves me from over-heating.
On our way back to her place, we dropped into her friends place to pick up their trailer that L was getting a loan of. But we couldn't get it all the way onto the towball, and then couldn't get it off. So had to ring PJ and give him the address to put into TomTom to get him up there to solve the problem. All it needed was a bit of brute strength. Back at L's place, we cleaned out her garage, and all the hedge trimmings were loaded into the trailer, & PJ drove the car to the dump for her to get rid of everything. PJ had pruned her hedge yesterday, and cleaned out the gutters on the garage roof. Wonder if I can get him to clean out the gutters at home???? - and pull out the little trees that are going in them!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.