Wild weather

Although the Scottish word 'dreich' word sounds and looks like the weather we have had, I suspect that it applies to more dismal and drear weather than the near storm we have been suffering over the last two days. The wind has been whipping into Snell Beach from the Hauraki Gulf, picking up speed as it gets channelled between the headlands at either end of the beach. Carrying with it the rain which has been almost constant.

The only good thing about it was that I had letters and reports to do this weekend, and there was nothing to entice me outside. I spent the two days on crossword puzzles, a little reading and of necessity the paperwork I don't have time for during the week.

And, of course, there were the actions of someone not quite rational. I bundled up and went down to the beach with my camera. Yesterday's best photo was no match for the weir on, and bridge over, the Mahurangi River in Warkworth. Today there was only my photos from down at the beach from which to choose.

The birds were more sensible than was I. Apart from the gulls, four herons and a couple of Pied Stilts, there were no birds to be seen. As I went back up the cliff by way of the path through bush to the Highfield Reserve I did hear tui and another bird I could not identify from its call nor see wherever in the bush they were perched. Singing (but not) in the rain.

I resorted to taking pictures of the waves and the spray. The usual at this stage of the tidal flow would be a gentle swell barely troubling the rocks. I think that this particular burst of spray and foam is the result of an incoming wave rushing full speed into the rebounding preceding wave, as there are no rocks just at that point. On any other day at mid tide the rocks in the foreground would not have foaming water on them.

For Snells Beach this is certainly wild water, and there will be much more seaweed thrown onto the beach. Our beach (behind me at this point) has had sand stripped from it exposing much more rock and stones than usual. Right at the point of the headland there has been some crumbling of the cliff face. Fortunately nothing has happened to the cliff in front of our home, nor that of S' mother.

Another full on week coming up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.