Spreadin' the Love

We had a snow day today for a storm that never materialized. We only got about a half inch of the predicted 8 inches or so.

We took the opportunity to make valentines for the school party on Friday. I generally try to let my daughter do whatever she wants when it comes to expressing herself creatively (with the recent exception of trying to temper the over-zealous cupcake sprinkling), but when she piled and glued valentine on top of valentine on top of valentine, I realized we might have trouble getting the now three-dimensional valentines into envelopes. I said without really thinking, "You know honey, you might want to think about spreading the love." She stopped what she was doing, looked at her work, and said, "Oh yes! I can spread the love, mom!"

She knew exactly what I meant, and she spread her love with great joy and in two dimensions (if you don't count the fall to the kitchen floor where many bits of love came to rest).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.