My vote is cast

Like many others, I received my postal vote ballot papers this week for the Scottish Independence Referendum.

I feel privileged to be able to vote in such a democratic manner on such an important decision, and have considered it long and hard, asking questions, reading documents and discussing it with others, so I can make an informed choice.

But it's been like trying to herd cats at times, with facts of substance and real credibility being hard to find. Just when you think you have got one pinned down, it moves sideways. This hasn't been helped by some disgraceful and dishonourable tactics from hardline supporters of both sides, undermined further by the weak condemnation of such incidences by the relevant senior politicians.

I hope all of us who have a vote use it and, whatever the outcome, accept the democratic decision of our fellow citizens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.