SuffolkBumble

By SuffolkBumble

High Five!

Today we went into Pretoria to visit the Union Buildings where Parliament is housed. They were lovely buildings and the view of central Pretoria were stunning. But something we spent more time with this statue erected for Nelson Mandela. It was huge and detailed and beautiful. It felt like you could feel the essence of the great man by being in its presence. Then we saw people trying to take photos of them high fiving the statue. I think that everyone would have wanted to high five Nelson Mandela and now we can say that we have. Kind of.

Afterwards we had a little drive into Pretoria before going to the Botanical Gardens. There we visited the waterfall where Gareth proposed to Jess and spent time walking the gardens, marveling over some of the exotic flowers and, for me, the deep red of the ground. Rach and I had lunch at Steers (an awesome burger joint where they use actual meat - I know!) before we all headed back for some cards and a relaxing evening of packing and braai. In the morning Rach and I head to safari....I felt like a kid at Christmas!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.