Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Bee Feast

Yesterday I made my first loaf in the Breadmaker Mum handed on to me after buying herself a new one last week. As a first attempt it wasn't bad, though the top sunk a bit, which the manual suggested was too much liquid - I'll know next time!

As I don't eat much bread during the week, I need to freeze half which called for a quick trip down to the local supermarket for freezer bags. On the way home I stopped off at Hawley Meadows for another attempt at that elusive backlit photo I have in my head.

Alongside the River Blackwater I spotted this rather lovely flower, and managed to catch a bee enjoying its nectar. However, reading one of the information panels I realised that the plant is Himalayan Balsam, a plant introduced into the UK in 1989 and a highly invasive weed which people are asked to pull out if possible and leave to rot well away from the river bank: I'll know next time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.