Words my Mother Taught Me

I swithered this morning as to what to do first. There were friends coming for coffee, and I had to redd up the house but I had my banana cake to ice as per Ms Berry, with shoogly lines of icing.
That's where I got myself into a right fankle trying to keep the icing from slipping off down the sides. It was a complete slaister.

There was just enough time before they arrived for me to pech up Middle Meadow Walk and go the messages. We needed a few heavy items, and it was a fair trauchle to get them home in time to set out the snasters to eat.

Right on the dot they arrived: two friends of mine who knew each other lang syne, but who haven't met in a while.

There was much for them to catch up on, so I let them yatter, while I went into a bit of a dwam, speering what I could blip for today.

There was a bit of a stooshie later when they jaloused they would soon overrun their allotted time on the parking meters, and jackets were hurriedly produced , but they were quite joco when they left, stravaiging up the path still blethering.

PS I would dearly have loved to take in the word pawkie- a word that take me right back to the age of 6 and a present of pawkies , or mitts, which were crotcheted with a ribbon of crochet linking the two and which then went through the armholes of my coat, and saved me from losing either glove

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.