Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Impudent Lawyer

While we were out for our walk this evening I noticed these lovely little flowers growing close to the ground amongst the stubble of the newly harvested field. I was tempted to call them wild snapdragons but if I am not mistaken they are Linaria Vulgaris, a flower similar to snapdragons but actually a different species. Wikipedia tells us that because this plant grows as a weed, it has many colloquial names. Some of my favourites are bread and butter, calf's snout, dead men's bones, eggs and butter, and my very favourite, impudent lawyer, the title of this blip.

This picture was taken at exactly the same spot as an earlier blip just a couple of weeks ago on August 18th, when instead of these lovely little yellow flowers there were poppies growing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.