An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

"All Aboard!!" (the steam train)

...the steam train, at Swanage.

Sunday 31st August

Summer (sort of) returned on Sunday, so it was down to the coast and Swanage.

Have wanted to get a credible Blip of a steam train, somewhere! though I am not really a steam 'enthusiast.' But there is a certain something - nostalgia, living and breathing machinery, rather than what we have today.

I was not a passenger, so could not get too close, so from the platform entrance, I trained my Tamron SP 70-300mm VC lens right down the length of the train and its carriages.

Naturally, I wanted huge plumes of puffing steam and smoke coming out of the front, but the brightness of the day and the length of the train meant that those shots didn't work. I either had out of focus train guards in the way or 21st century passengers, with buggies, mobile phones and garish shorts...

I do like the clarity of this one - especially the hint of the open carriage door, ready for any latecomers.

Black & white? Well, the whole of the carriage glared badly from the sun and whilst painted green it came out a dirty, bleached out green. Black and white simplifies it, allows for much better tone and exposure manipulation in editing and makes it a bit more vintage. I could have added sepia, too, but thought that going too far.

Have just got back from a very tiring very early morning walk, today, 2nd. MUST have shower, carve off slices of mud from my boots and have something to eat. Will be back with you soon - and to thank all who have left lovely comments and Hearts on my Turneresque Cathedral blip of yesterday.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.