Street Corner Society

By StCornerSociety

Separation

A keyhole view of Buchanan Street, Glasgow.

I wasn't thinking of anything deep when I took this (and I'm not comparing myself to Vivian Maier!). But looking at the image reminds me of what the recent documentary about Vivian Maier, which many of you may have seen, said about her: 'she observed the world as if she was separated from it, and the people in it, by a plastic barrier'.

Whilst I'm in the mood for quotes relating to street photographers, I also noticed that my lightroom catalogue is well over 10, 000 (most of it I haven't even touched as I picked my fave for blip and that was it). "Your first 10, 000 photographs are your worst" said Henri Cartier Bresson. Here's hoping to some improvement! That works out on average 100 shots for every one that appears on blip. Vivian used to be a one-shot-was-all-that-was-needed kind of gal.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.