Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

One Show, Five Acts

This is the camera rehearsal earlier this afternoon with Matt Baker and Alex Jones, presenters of BBC Television's The One Show, which is holding a live music festival on The World piazza at Broadcasting House all this week. Yesterday we had pop band The Vamps, and this evening the concert pianist Lang Lang performed live on the show. He then continued playing for about 20 minutes after it came off air. I'm working late this evening, and have just been able to pop down and hear the very last piece of music he played. I was hoping to get a good shot of him close up, but there was a bit of a scrum of admirers (including Alan Yentob) crowding around him, so sadly I didn't get anything blipworthy. I'm pleased to say that Lang Lang was very gracious with his fans, happily signing autographs and posing for pictures with people on their phones.

Tomorrow The One Show's live performers will be the band Kasabian, and on Thursday we have the singer Sam Smith. And I was thrilled to be notified earlier on that I have a much-coveted ticket to see the Robert Plant mini-gig while it is being transmitted on Friday's programme. If you're a viewer of The One Show, watch out for me in the audience!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.