Robin Barclay - one a day

By RobinBarclay

St Nicholas Buccleuch Church, Dalkeith

I had to go down into Dalkeith today, so I went to the coffee shop of this old (often restored) medieval church to see if there was a painting of the church hanging there (for sale - an art group meets there and Colin Easton had told me there was one). Someone asked me, through DAME (Dalkeitharts) if I could locate one.
I had been told that the ruined east end had been destroyed by Cromwell's troops - but Colin was helping in the coffee shop (he is an elder and knows the history) and told me that the chancel/choir was walled off at the reformation and allowed to fall into ruin. It is hard to understand these days how such strong views were held - so much of historic & artistic value was destroyed or defaced in Christian sectarian schism. I guess we don't need to look too far to see it in action now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.