Two Medicine Lake View

Today we covered a lot of ground in and around the east side of Glacier National Park. We spent the night at Saint Mary Lodge, after crossing the park via the Going to the Sun Road and Logan Pass (over the Continental Divide).

From the lodge we headed north and and then west to Many Glacier, the section of the park originally named for its numerous glaciers and many high peaks; it's regarded by many, especially back-country hikers, as the true heart of the park. I have to admit that we only took a short walk on an easy trail.

We then drove back out of the park (the only way) and headed south, reaching East Glacier at the end of the afternoon. The road gained a good deal of altitude, and we passed one wonderful view after another. The east side of the park is generally more scenic than the west, with more dramatic peaks.

This is a view of Lower Two Medicine Lake.* It was the last image I took, just after 5 pm, before we arrived at the village of East Glacier. It's an HDR capture with my new Canon 5D Mark III--this afternoon was the first time I used the option. It may not be the "best" image of the day, but after the demise of my Windows laptop at the beginning of the trip, I can only use Marylee's MacBook to deal with them, and not knowing the ways of Apple and its iphoto, this image is unprocessed (other than the HDR treatment).

*I've approximately marked my view point on the map--which has a fair number of inaccuracies and omissions :)


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.