Chinese whispers

I only wanted shower gel and aspirin, but my 'quick nip' down to the shop took longer than expected due to absolute chaos on the car park.

I arrived at the tail end of the incident, so was witness only to the tittle tattle of the various onlookers.

Speculation was rife; one person said a car had reversed into an elderly lady, another said 2 cars had reversed into each other.
The best quote I overhead was a lady who said 'it's really upset me.....and I didn't even see what happened'! ????

What allegedly happened (according to the checkout girl in Home Bargains) was that 2 cars indeed began reversing at the same time. The elderly lady driver of one of the cars got out of her car but left it in gear (& I'm guessing handbrake off), so her car carried on reversing and she was dragged underneath it (basically she ran herself over).

I know I've blipped the scene, but I'm not sure of the outcome as I hate rubberneckers. All I know is that the paramedics were dealing with her as I arrived. The crowd didn't need another spectator so I continued with my shopping.

I hope she's ok.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.