Fire Burn at Glacier

We returned to the West Glacier entrance to Glacier National Park today, and took the Camas Road, which heads north to the west of Lake McDonald. The road rises for the first several miles, giving increasingly vivid views of the lake and the mountains toward the center of the park. Multiple forest fires in 2003 burned much of this western part of the park (13% of the whole park), and a great many of the trees which the fire killed still stand.

NB: I backblipped this on 3 September, after missing two days, due to continuing difficulties related to the crash of my Windows laptop--I'm left only with Marylee's MacBook, which I haven't mastered; thus this shot is unprocessed. (For now I won't be posting a blip for 9/1; I didn't take any files that day small enough to be posted without processing.)

The next day (1 September) we crossed to the east side of the park via the Going-to-the-Sun Road over Logan Pass (6,646 ft/2,026 m), spending the night at the village of St. Mary.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.