River of Flowers

By doffy

Speckled Wood Butterfly

I hope that I have identified this correctly. It looks similar to the one that fellow Blipper Sgwarnog posted a few days ago.

Cloudy all morning, I was indoors making jewellery. This afternoon was a lot warmer (24 degrees C) so I cleared a bit more of the garden, potted up some roses and delivered them to a neighbour. Also planted out some leeks and asparagus kale. Potted on more asparagus kale and kale "Fizz" - both from Cottage Garden seed swap.

Lots of these butterflies around at the moment they seem to enjoy the flowers on the garlic chives as do lots of other bees and insects.

I observed a very strange phenomenon this afternoon, the nettles are in flower and they were sending puffs of pollen out every few seconds - I thought I was imagining it!

Still picking the lovely large blueberries off the plant which arrived last summer - I ate another small handful this morning as I walked to the greenhouse.

It is possible that I may have some mini sweet corn cobs as well and pears!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.