First Day

4years 317days

Today I am exerting my right to the cheesy, shameless "child in uniform" portrait. I am soooo proud of her today. She woke up before 4 am saying "I am going to school after bed" and that she wanted to walk so she could carry her own bag, put her arm around my neck and snuggled down. Although not back to sleep. By 415 she was bouncing off the walls with the biggest grin. We had chats with Australia, messages from Edie and Max made her very happy. She ate a cooked breakfast, had a bath and finally at 6.45 I allowed her into her uniform. After a crazy dance for 10 minutes, in which all her built up excitement totally burst from her body and she went nuts.

She had a very brief "I need Monkey to come" wobble as time to go was approaching, so I bundled her out the door and we managed to move on with smiles. She skipped the entire way to school, apart from when she ran. She ran through the playground, bounced across to her classroom. She had the smallest of wobbles as it was hand-over time, mainly because her friend beside her was having a giant meltdown. I was so proud of her.

It was a long, long day for mama. But at 3.25 I was stood waiting at the gates where we all just about tolerated a speech from the headteacher before our beautiful small people were released to us. It broke my heart to see some of them in tears from relief. But I spotted my gorgeous, gorgeous girl stood with a huge grin even before she'd seen me.

I was proud of her for simply going through the gates with such delight today. After hearing about her day I was even more proud. Her very first words were "I ate all my lunch!" Her second words were "We went on the iPads!" Mr A played them lots of songs on the guitar, "hard songs that I didn't know, fun songs though". She then played with the inside sandpit with Hattie. She learnt hopscotch, she played on the blue bike outside, she did the climbing. She painted a field "but with none flowers". She made a new friend called Gracie "I think, anyway, Mummy". She had "just raisins" for morning snack. She played with her old friends, especially Freya W-W, Bobbins and Poppy. She ate all her lunch "it was bolognese, and I had cucumber with it. And I had a cake with raisins in it.". She moved up to make room for her friend Lydia at lunch. When they first started visits, we were told the foundation children have their own playground but that at lunchtime the gate is opened for those who wish to join the bigger children in the main keystage 1 playground, but that it usually takes weeks. Today Katie led the way and was the first to go play with the big kids. And came back to take some of her friends with her. They had a story about Sam starting school and "our teachers said 'just like all of you!". She found the toilets, she changed into and out of her coat and cardigan happily (she was quite insistent she tell me this). She even came out of school with her t-shirt tucked in! She noted in slight disgust that "we didn't have to write our names, or even do a picture and we didn't do any reading" and then "They didn't have a home corner, they should have a home corner". I think they do have a home corner though - but she said "I couldnt find the upstairs room, so I didnt go there". I think thats where the home corner is. I asked her what the best thing was - "the iPads". I asked her what wasnt good "None of it. It all made me happy". She is so ready to get on and learn. And I am Sooooo proud of her.

She ended the incredible day with a walk to swimming, her swimming lesson and tea with a friend!!

Mummy has a happy heart tonight. And best of all? She cant wait to go back tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.