Echo

By Echo

Strawberry Field

These are the gates to Strawberry Field a Childrens' Home run by the Salvation Army since 1938.
They are visited frequently by Beatles' fans Lennon's in particular.(hence the graffiti) I used to teach in a school almost opposite to these gates.
They have been stolen once but were returned. A bit obvious if you were trying to sell them round the pubs that you had not come by them legally.
The closure of the home was announced about 2005. There were at that time only three children living there. The policy had changed over time and it was felt children were best care for in foster homes which is were the 3 remaining children were to go.I took this on my way out to B&Q incase I did not get another chance of a blip. When I opened up Blipfoto on getting home and saw what the assignment was the decision was made for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.