a town called E.

By Eej

Hi-biscus, -maintenance

In the summer of 2008 we bought a beautiful Hibiscus. The woman who helped us said that in this climate these kinds of Hibiscuses are annual; they don't survive the winter outside. She said: 'You could try putting it inside for the winter, but I don't really know how you'd do that"
Fortunately, there's the internet, and then there's determination. I have both :)
That fall, as soon as they predicted frost, our Biscuit (as we call her) moved inside.
When one of the cats decided he never wanted to eat anything but Hibiscus in his life we covered the plant in plastic.
April came, and a severely cut back (part me, part cat) Biscuit moved to the porch. Still wrapped. In May we moved her down to the patio and unveiled her. It took her a while, but she bloomed gloriously, and much better than the year before.
Last November I asked the Beloved to bring her inside again. He moaned and groaned and was considering inventing a Mobile Hothouse for Biscuit to live in. As she weighs about 75 lbs (pot an' all) I could understand that :)

Today I gave her a good Spring-cleaning. Just in case we get 70F next week ;)
I brushed off the dead leaves and found some dried flowers on the soil.
I can't wait for her to bloom again and look like a pink version of this: so, so pretty!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.