Awakenings

Groove Armada - You Got To

Been watching a lot of films in my free time just to mellow out. I saw Step Up 3 and Step Up 4 which were a lot of fun. The dancing was awesome obviously and there was one scene in Step Up 3 which was a whole dance sequence in one shot filming the principal characters head to toe, just like in the old days. The flashy editing was taken away for actual dancing. It's something rare to see but a sight to be hold.

I also saw Pretty Woman for the first time a few days ago and even though I don't like Julia Roberts or Richard Gere, they were just awesome. It's hard not to like their characters in the film even though under normal, "non-fairytale" circumstances it wouldn't exist. The final scene was nice but with the crazy homeless man talking about Hollywood, it was rather self-aware. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

Last night I borrowed a new set of films including Parker with Jason Statham and Jennifer Lopez. Not arresting at all and it followed the typical "Jason Statham" action / thriller formula. I felt a little sad seeing J-Lo in such an average role. I'm not a big fan of her post music career and even though she looked great, I can't help but think she could have starred in a better film. Clearly, I'm out of date on the who's hot and who's not list. Below average film, please ignore it. Just needed to see some action.

Some other serious films. The video library had a small Robin Williams section to pay tribute so I borrowed Good Morning Vietnam and Awakenings which I can't believe I haven't seen yet. Strong stuff and a great showcase for his immense acting talent. My top five Robin William's films are Insomnia, Good Will Hunting, Dead Poets Society, Awakenings (which I'm currently watching) and The World According To Garp. The Fisher King and Aladdin are almost there too. With all due respect some of the movies he starred in were a little too saccharine but when they were good, they were awesome.

More on the back burner are Malcom X and Mississippi Burning. Heavy viewing, but definitely in need of something with emotional brevity having seen a bunch of fun and innocuous films recently. All the best for your weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.