One daze at a time...

By Raheny_Eye

11

Kids' birthday parties...
Tsk... what a drag...

Ok, ok, Nana wasn't quite too put off by the Perrier-Jouet.
And Pepe may have taken 2 or 3 extra slices of the home-made pizza.
And Dad did top up his glass of Chateau Lalande-Poitevin once. Or five times.
And Mum may have enjoyed Guardians of the Universe more than you or Sean. Or even the nerds who stayed until the last line of the credits.

Tsk... Just like I said... What a drag.

Every year Luca usually says something along the lines of "this is the best birthday I've ever had"
He did, on his way into town to the cinema with Mum after unpacking his Skylanders Swap-Force Portal of Power, say that today was so good that it didn't quite feel real.
So tonight, as I gave him his extra big cuddle at bedtime, I asked him if he had had a good day (ok, ok, I was fishing for the traditional "this is the best birthday I've ever had"...)
Luca paused for a while to think.
And then he declared:

Today was the biggest...





















... bit of dead skin pulled off a foot I've ever seen"
(he did pluck a dead dried blister from my heel at dinner time and almost dropped it on his horrified mum's slice of pizza).

I managed to hold it together.
Kissed him, and told him how much mum and dad loved him. And granddad and nana (I stopped short of saying "and your brother and sister" because technically this would have been an exaggeration, if not a lie).

Then I came downstairs and told Nana the dead skin declaration. And we both cried with laughter until our sides ached.

A good day altogether.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.