IzzyK

By IzzyK

Lost my Marbles.......

It's another one of those days where I wake up and think I feel better and 10 minutes in to the day I get knocked back down again, it came to a particular head when someone asked me to do work on a Saturday after battling on for two weeks working despite feeling pretty awful. I didn't do the work..........I lost my marbles again!

It reminds me very much of a time when I was travelling alone with my son to Ireland - he was two going on three at the time...(hard to belive he will be ten this year)......his first observation that had the plane in stiches of laughter was pointing out to a Virgin plane............was 'Mummy, Mummy, it's a Coke Cola airplane' - so what does colours say for brand identity! Secondly was when I gave that sigh of relief........after the usual airport chaos multiplied by a million becuase I was travelling solo with the most precious cargo.......my son, when I settled back in and said to him 'I must have lost my marbles'..............and he turned round and said 'what marbles....I can't see them anywhere!' as he made a quick sweep of the surronding area on the plane. We had a plane of one hundred or so passangers in tears of laughter as the story spread like wildfire through the confined space! What he didn't know then was..............I probably didn't have any marbles to loose........and still don't!

So everytime I see marbles I am reminded of my son's reaction to a common day saying, and how to a two year old life is plain and simple...metaphors do not really exist......and how grateful I am they did not in this instance.......becuase I will never look at marbles in quite the same away agian!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.