FoundWalking

By FoundWalking

Long Shadows

I took my weed whacker across the street and knocked on the door.I could hear the yappy little Chihuahua in the kitchen. Eventually Elmer came to the door. He was as thin as a sheet of paper. I introduced myself. I said that I was his neighbor and pointed across the street. I asked if I could help him with his lawn.

He said that he had fallen a couple of years ago and broke his neck. Last summer we would walk by his house and he'd be sitting on the stoop his head locked in a halo and his feisty little dog lunging at our pit bull.

He said that he had to wear that brace for 15 months. His brother took care of his lawn now. He said that he couldn't handle mowing anymore. I said that if he ever needed anything to look me up. I shouldered my weed whacker and headed back to my own yard.

I work with old people on the phone. Many alone, no help, no one to take care of their home, no one to sit with them on warm summer nights. Maybe we can help one or two. Shovel their walks. Bring them flowers. Fill their bird feeders. Little things. Help them stay connected, let them know that someone is thinking about them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.