The Wild Wild West

By Beedoesthis

We broke the law.

Saturday was a day to finally clean the home and shop and do a whole host of other things. The scarlet goddess was taken back to the dealer to have a couple of niggly bits sorted, and then I did the cycle home (loving how easily the bike fits in the back of the car!)

I remember when cycling was FUN. My Dawes Kingpin (Bixie), my best friend and I would spend ALL DAY out on our bikes, just doing the sort of things kids do. The first thing I said to the girl who became my best friend in fact, was, 'do you have a bicycle?'

But now it just seems like hard work. The saddle hurts, I don't understand gears, the hand position is wrong. Maybe I need to go back to the sorry of bikes we had when I was out in Japan, the sort with a basket on the front that you just rode from shop to shop, from izakaya to izakaya. Maybe these modern ones fandangled ones are just too COMPLICATED.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.