An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Master Stonemason - Henry Gray

As mentioned in yesterday's Blip, today was the second day of Salisbury's Contemporary Craft & Heritage Fayre.

I've known - and been friends with Henry, on and off - for over ten years. He has worked on replacement stones on the amazing West Front of Salisbury Cathedral - they don't let just any amateur to do that, you know!

His website and with gallery of current work plus history etc is here - Grays Stone Carving Studios, in the beautiful Chalke valley, 12 miles south west from Salisbury.

He had been having a really busy weekend, at his stall/workshop at the Fayre. Ironically, but so fitting that the Fayre was held directly under, yes, the Cathedral's West Front! I forgot to ask him exactly which bits were carved by his fair hand...

I arranged to come back to Henry, when one of his free 'try it' demonstrations was underway. He had three workplaces, with a queue of many at each!

I worked professionally, asking the father to this boy if it was OK if I took publicity pictures for Henry, which is what they were - and are. I only took half a dozen in total of the whole stall and participants and left, leaving Henry to get on with his job. I emailed the edited ones to him, for him to use, for free.

In LARGE, you can just see the stone dust spraying up. I used the Tamron SP 17-50mm f2.8 lens at its widest aperture and angled myself so that the plane of limited focus covered both Henry and the chisel. These are the main subjects, not the boy, though he is, of course, an important element. This maximum aperture helped ensure a fuss-free background. As that background was light at the top right, I added some subtle darkening to this area.

It's certainly great and a privilege to know people like Henry. Masters at their own chosen art form. It was great to catch up with him (we had a good chat at the end of the day). Do check him out and if you fancy trying a new skill, Henry is probably the most patient and sweet man I know, and would wish to know. He is unruffable!

The sun came out later and it got quite warm. But I had my Blip - and I so wanted to share the beauty and skill of a so old and traditional craft being kept alive. Henry knows of my intended Blip - the whole concept of he more than approves; he knows me too well! and I will email him the link to this Blip in a few days so he can read all your comments, so be extra nice, now!

Interestingly (perhaps!) - one year ago, is yet another Blip of Salisbury Cathedral and with a sculpture, but not carved by Henry, though - see thumbnail, below, right

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.