Race day

Some rain overnight and when I first looked out Skiddaw wasn't to be seen but soon the clouds began to clear and this was the view from the bedroom.
Mr Rat, son & I walked down to register at 9am and it was much fresher and getting bright, and by the time son ran (he went for the 10k starting at 11am) the sun was out and it was a bit hot for running. Despite that he came in 8th out of 278 so did really well.
Our run was 15k starting at 1pm and we were worried about the heat but it turns out perfect as it clouded over for most of the time we were out in the open.
The race went along the old railway and then climbed up the Glenderaterra valley (between Blencathra & Skiddaw) until we were well over 1000ft up. One section had a narrow path and I was slightly held up by a long line in front of me who decided to walk and couldn't be passed, though the bogs on this section were interesting!.
Great, long downhill, being careful not to fall over (Mr Rat managed to) overtaking loads of people to finish well inside my target of 2 hours.
I was 325 out of 426, Mr Rat 24, so both pleased with our runs and feeling more confident for our fundraising 2 trail runs in 2 days next month
Last of my back blips but not much time for comments

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.