Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Tall Ships on the Thames

The first of two visits up to London to immerse ourselves in the Tall Ships Festival.

There are, 50 plus, Tall Ships moored or travelling up and down the Thames. Most of the ships are open for the public to explore, if you are more willing than I to do an hour and a half's queuing to get a foot on board. This probably isn't the best image of the day. I think the blisters got the better of me so, I was looking for a blip rather than an outstanding photo.

Six of us met at Waterloo at 9.45am... I arrived home as the sky darkened. There was so much going on along the banks of the Thames. The Ships are certainly a sight unlikely to be seen again for many years but you can't forget the shanties, dancing and reenactments that were taking place on the side lines for the entertainment of young and old alike.

I give up.. it's my destiny to loose someone on every meet. This time it was a fellow blipper that got off the ferry too soon... no names. :)

My famous last words were " Well, I can't loose anyone on a boat."

This is the 46 meter Dutch Ship Morgenster. Her rigging is based on the American clippers from the eighteenth century, which were famous for their speed and manoeuvrability.She was rescued from a state of advancing disrepair and is now a sail training Ship.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.