SilverImages

By SilverImages

Foxhunter

"What the caterpillar calls the end of the world, the master calls a butterfly"
Richard Bach : Illusions : The Adventures of a reluctant Messiah


Began the day getting my report ready for delivery at Meeting this morning. I'm Treasurer and was asked to give the best projection of finances at the end of the year - get the crystal ball out. Not really that bad but there is an element of educated guesswork in anticipating what's going to happen over the next 3-4 months. All went well of course, properly prepared so couldn't really be otherwise. Nearly 2pm by the time I got away for some lunch.

Weather unexpectedly bright after yesterdays steady rain through the afternoon, so decided on an afternoon out chasing photos. Phoned Dad to see if he was up for a few hours out. No answer.... Called by on my way out; guessed he'd be in the garden on one of his little "projects". Sure enough he was. Happy to come out for a few hours and a meal after.

Headed for Blaenafon, via The British. Made several stops along the way for photos of the valleys, heather lacing the tops of the hills with beautiful colour. Nobody told me autumn had arrived. Green woodpecker flies up past us; haven't seen one for several months, such a pleasure when I see them. Also Buzzard quartering the valley from the thermal, circling and rising.

The photo is from an unscheduled stop on the way to Blorenge. I was heading for Keepers Pond when Dad happened to comment that Foxhunter, the horse that helped Britain to it's only gold medal in the 1952 Olympics, was buried nearby. A quick detour to the car park and on a rocky outcrop nearby we find the memorial plaque to the horse. When Sir Harry Llewellyn died [oh, did I not mention he was Foxhunters owner and rider] his ashes were scattered around Foxhunters burial place.

Short drive to Keepers Pond car park where I parked Dad [and the car] with an ice cream [no, I didn't get the car an ice cream] while I had a wander around the pond in search of more pics. Job done I decided on a ludicrous journey down a crappy mountain rollercoaster road barely wide enough for the car with dad happily telling me how Mum was ever so slightly terrified when he took this route back in the mists of time. Must be something in the genes, there's no hope for me!

Still, I did get through the afternoon out without losing him!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.