simonwatterson

By simonwatterson

Charles

He's Charlie to most people but he has always been Charles to me - a man whom I have known for more years than I care to think of.

Until recently Charles could be seen most days pushing his mother around in a wheelchair, usually loaded with shopping and other 'stuff'. I understand his mother is now in care - leaving Charles more time to do what he does best - thinking deeply and honestly about life, sharing his views and engaging in animated conversation with passers by.

If you get the chance to talk to him be prepared for some fairly radical views......

I told him today that I thought he was eminent and he wasn't sure what that meant. I told him it was someone who had depth or character and wisdom and he just laughed his big laugh.

But a real gentleman in the true meaning of the word.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.