Thorpe Cloud - Dovedale

This is my last full day out before I go back to work on Wednesday, and I wasn't going to miss this fantastic September weather we're having. So I've visited another local beauty spot and completed a 3 hour walk.

My walk took me from Ilam village in the Peak National Park up the side of Bunster Hill. I took a route through Dovedale Wood and steeply down to Ilam Rock. For this part of the walk I was completely alone. Wonderful! Once I'd met up with the path in Dovedale it was a different story. But I was expecting this. It's a very popular walk along the valley floor. I reached the famous stepping stones and then headed back to Ilam. An icecream van was waiting in Ilam, and I couldn't just walk on by, so a 99 was purchased to enjoy at the end of a beautiful late summer walk! Just perfect!

This is the view back towards Thorpe Cloud, the flattened hillin the centre of the photo, as I made my way over the fields returning to Ilam.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.