Nature makes me jump - yet AGAIN!

I suppose it was disturbing so much of the front garden yesterday that did it. But today I popped into the cloakroom. Warning: never pull a hair from your pot pourri bowl if you're not wearing your reading glasses. As I pulled the hair - it moved backwards out of my grasp as it was attached to a giant grasshopper - at least 3" / 8cms long - and the 'hair', of course, was one of its antennae.

Caught the critter in an empty see-through container so that I could study it closely. (Well, no. Actually, Mr PP did the catching of it, so that I could examine it!) Then I let it go. I established that it's a long-horned grasshopper, of which there are thousands of varieties. Its underside looked like a podful of peas. (See inset photo.)

Long-horned grasshopper,
Green as grass,
Tummy like a pea-pod,
Extended ... ovipositor!*

*That's the long pointed bit underneath that deposits eggs. I'm hoping it didn't deposit any in my pot pourri, but it's probably time I replaced that with fresh! I also checked for legs as I noticed it only had one hind jumping leg. "I suppose you looked in the Lost Leggage, did you?" quipped Mr PP.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.