Mangere Bridge

Very early start to the day as I had a flight to Wellington leaving at 0700. Because I like to be in plenty of time, I have my breakfast in the lounge while waiting to board. Even with the morning traffic in Wellington I was at the Council offices before 0830 for the 0930 meeting.

Time enough to connect my laptop to the internet, and get the mail. Frustration ensued. Safari connected to the Internet. Yes. Mail connected to the Internet. Yes. Able to send mail. Yes. Able to receive mail. No. The mail problem is the opposite of what I have previously experienced when At Council. Because I had been told by S (Text message) that there was an email for me from the Court about a report which they wanted, I wanted to get the email.

So I rang the provider (Actrix). Twice. Both times the person I spoke to was bewildered. They said that from their end, everything was okay. I had to give up and start chairing the meeting at that point. By the morning tea break I had realised that (a) I had a scanned copy of my report on my MacBook desktop, on the off chance that the Court would not have received my report in time (b) I could send mail (c) the Court co-ordinator wanted my report (d) I could send it to her without having her email to reply to as her address is in my address book. Problem solved. (This evening I was able to receive and read her thanks)

The meeting was busy and at times stressful. One of our visitors took longer than usual; like twice as long. And I had wanted to finish the meeting early enough to catch the 1620 back to Auckland. That I did manage that was a result of good work by my colleagues, and a straightforward taxi drive (barely 15 minutes from The Terrace to the airport).

I almost blipped a photo of the plane I flew home on from the window of the lounge after I had managed to check in one minute before the flight closed. However, i like this shot of the western sky as sunset neared, taken from the Mangere bridge as my taxi returned me to the City.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.