Scattered Polaroids

By sp

words

I love words. the best compliment I ever got (apart from possibly "you look like Anne Hathaway" - I totally don't, by the way), was from my A Level history teacher, who said that I had an "extraordinary command over language".

my Valentines day might not have been the extravagant romantic day I'm sure many had planned, but it was lovely nonetheless. my brother jetted off to Germany in the early hours of the morning, so my mum came down to visit me. we had lunch in Zizzi's (perhaps a little too much lunch), then had a walk (or rather, an uncomfortably full waddle) around the cathedral.
she also came bearing gifts - a stack of old ladybird books for artistic purposes, and a dictionary.

bit of a coincidence, this. just last night I made the decision that I'd gone far too long already without a dictionary, and that I should buy one asap. modern inventions like dictionary.com and spellcheck are good enough, but I find something very satisfying about having a real, physical, old fashioned dictionary. with pages and everything... maybe that's just me.

thank you mummy :)
and happy valentines day blippers.
oh, and happy chinese new year too.
xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.