Great North Run weekend 2014

It has taken a long time for this weekend to come round. I was supposed to do the GNR last year but I injured my achilles so my entry was deferred to this year. It worked out for the best in the end as you can now fly direct from Brussels to Newcastle, unlike last year and it was a special year as it marked the first millionth finisher in a race ever! Newcastle has been celebrating all week with a huge party on Thursday and lots of media hype.
Some of my extended family came up from Liverpool to see us as they knew we were visiting and I managed to persuade them to do the 5km race today at the Quayside along with hubby. I was so impressed with all of them as they all entered into the spirit of things and despite having a slight hamstring injury hubby had a blinder and surprised us all. And my big cousin (who is actually tiny) and into her fifties (she won't mind me telling!) won her first ever medal!
The afternoon was spent partying at Mum and Dad's and having a good old catch up.
My turn tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.