An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Gateway to the Purbecks...

The chain-link ferry connecting Sandbanks with Studland, Swanage and the eastern part of the 'Isle' of Purbeck (it's not an actual island, being connected to the land at the far end, but many miles away, hence the ferry at this end).

Here, the ferry is about to cast off from Sandbanks, towards sunset. It brought my bus over on its return and my journey home. It is free to be a foot passenger on the way out from Studland.

Lens is Nikkor 10-24mm, with polariser.

This day, Tuesday, aside of a good spot of sun-soaking on the beach, it also involved me (trying) to explore what's known on the map, as the Little Sea, a large inland lake that is a haven to birds, wildlife and plants. The heather was abundant and glowing. Views out towards Old Harry Rocks and back to Bournemouth.

Everybody else was on the beaches, so I had practically all this to myself.

Trying to circumnavigate the lake was impossible as many parts are just so naturally overgrown and marshy, it was also impractical, as well as being damaging to this environment, if one tried.

I did see very clearly a kingfisher. There was no way that I was going to get a good shot of it, so I didn't bother. As I saw its outline against the light, it then flitted to another twig, and in a flash of metallic azure, it then flew off. Keeping totally still, it helped me see it for longer and appreciate it better. There were also dragonflies and such, great white egrets and I'm sure, if I had my (currently broken) monster lens, and used one of the many hides dotted around the lake, then I would have seen many more species.

Back out to (hopefully) Durlston Point, on the very southern tip, on the coastal path, today, in a few minutes. Again, 2.5 hours plus EACH way, by bus and via this ferry again. Will not be back until 9.3o pm.

Loving this weather - might need to have a day off to recover these aching legs tomorrow, when I'll be able to catch up (a bit) with you all.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.