Chillin' Out.

These young people were taking a sunshine break in the New Square small park which is surrounded by Victorian Houses on three sides. Previously known as Doll's Close, it was rough pasture and part of Christ's Pieces which was also pasture in days gone by. It became a car park in 1934 and reverted to a green public space in 1983 when the Grafton car park was built. I didn't know there were that many cars about in 1934. I lived nearby as a child and learned to turn somersaults on the iron railings surrounding the car park, then off I would go to the paper shop for my Enid Blyton, Sunny Stories. If I hadn't spent all my pocket money, I would get an ice cream from Sylvester's in East road, which had a huge cornet high up on the wall with a bite taken out which us children were told was eaten by a giant!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.