Eyeballed

Flitting in the shafts of sunlight this beautiful, and it was beautiful, speckled wood butterfly had the most gorgeous colourings: almost foxy ... with russet fur on it's head and then subtly stunning blue, turquoise and green tones flowing into the wings. When it caught the light as here, I thought it was lovely.

Strange really as they have been around all summer, well camouflaged with the brown against the brambles; rather common and almost taken for granted. Am rather glad I managed to see another facet to it. I was also bowled over with the antennae - very robust and almost club like - another aspect that I'd missed!

Leading me on a dance it kept tantalisingly close but just at the last moment would rise up to find a better spot. Finally got it in the end though!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.