Porty People and Places

A glorious morning and an ideal one for a run on the beach before work followed by an afternoon of brambling in East Lothian.

My blip is taken at the Joppa Waterworks. The gull seems oblivious to the momentous changes that are rolling towards us all, whatever the final vote next week.

On my way to my meeting in town, I passed the Alex and Nicola circus - you could not see them for a forest of YES banners. Passing motorists were abandoning their cars to join the frenzied crowd, the majority of whom were holding mobile phones aloft in salutation. I often wonder how much of that footage will ever be watched, or indeed even watchable. But there was no mistaking a distinct air of " I was there ...." from all foregathered.

I did not come across David's NO circus - the news footage suggested that there were very few who knew where he would be and those that did were making their feelings extremely clear about his presence here. Had he tried to walk the streets of Edinburgh I suspect there would have been those who would have made such a walk an extremely uncomfortable one. There are many English observers tonight who are equally uncomfortable at the British PM's presence in the Scottish capital at this critical time.

The tenor of the debate is intensifying. Team Scotland v Team Westminster? The penalty shoot out is about to begin as the full time and extra time, of this two year campaign have now been played out.

The result is going to be very, very close.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.