Light & sight

By CameronDP

Half a person

I don't begrudge Scots their independence if that's what they really want. I do think it's a quite a leap in the dark and would be accompanied by a whole host of political, social and financial unknowns. It's pretty obvious too that severing all the ties and cutting all the cords will be a massive task requiring years to complete. I don't envy politicians that job. But what has been keeping me awake down here amongst the haggis-spuring Sassenachs is the potential political implications. Without all those north-of-the-border MPs, would Labour *ever* return to power? Will EnglandnWales effectively become a one-party state, with the Tories in power for ever more, drifting ever further to the right to the right to stave off UKIP? It's not a pretty vision, that's for sure.
As one or two of you may recall, I am in fact half Scottish. My late Dad was born in the fine wee town of Helensburgh , in Argyll and Bute, a little way up the Clyde from Glasgae and just across the water from Greenock, hometown of legendary blipster Cailleach. Perhaps I could submit half a 'no' vote? That'd count, right?
As fading comedy writer Ben Elton used to proclaim back in his heyday: "whoops, bit of politics there...."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.