Lake Hayes

Bruce had go to Queenstown airport as he had to make a quick trip to ChCH Lake Hayes was almost flat on our way down, I had my fingers crossed that it would be the same for me on my way back home the breeze had just picked up, but this part of the lake was still reflecting so I was lucky

The local Māori iwi (tribe) of Kai Tahu originally named the lake Te Whaka-ata a Haki-te-kura after an ancestress called Haki-te-kura whose image was said to be reflected in the lake.[2]

Settlers originally knew the lake as Hays Lake after D. Hay, an Australian who came to the district looking for sheep country in 1859. Its name gradually changed to Lake Hayes, as its discovery was credited erroneously to Captain "Bully" Hayes, an early local character of the district.[3]

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.